Sound English: Level 1 Pack 2 – Books 11-20


Rosemary McKenry  ,   Bruce Mitchell

Published:         Dec 2009

Publisher:         Publishing & Data

ISBN:                 9781921539916

Format:             Pack – 10 Books

View Detail


Sound English is a series of stories for people learning to read English. The series starts with the Preliminary books, which introduce essential sight words. From Level 1 onwards the text focuses on the phonemes (phonics) of Australian English.

The Level 1 and Level 2 books have been structured to introduce the 44 phonemes (phonics) of Australian English.  Taken in numerical order, each book in Levels 1 and 2 introduces new phonemes, and reinforces both the phonemes and words used in earlier books (see table below). The text in Level 2 books is more complex than that used in Level 1.  All books have detailed illustrations in full colour to assist with comprehension of the text. Each book includes extensive teaching notes and ideas   to assist volunteer tutors.

It is also possible to mix Sound English Readers from different levels to make up a quantity of 10 or more and receive the discount price of $6.95 by contacting The Language People office directly.

Book Title IPA Phoneme
11 A nasty man a  as in grass
12 Bill and Jill i  as in hill
13 Mother and son u  as in mud
14 Tijan liked to eat ea  as in seat
15 My island a  as in apart
16 A big mistake u  as in put
17 Khan goes to kinder k  as in kitten
18 Babies b  as in bet
19 Lucky Lee l  as in last
20 Measuring z  as in zoo s  as in measure